Need help understanding Racks, Songs and States

Hello,

I have been using Cantabile Performer 3 for a few years now and although I use it live I have never gotten around to setting up Racks and such because I am still having difficulty understanding how to set it all up properly. So far I have been programming my songs this way: Create new song, add plugs I need for the song, create midi/audio routes, edit levels, tweak, etc. and save song. Then add to setlist. So when I load that song everything is mapped out the way I like. Every song has it’s own rack, so to speak. But of course, it’s unloading and reloading the plugs. I do get that…however, I learned how to program my songs really easily and quickly in this manner. And 95 percent of my songs load in less than a second. Only a handful of songs take a few seconds or longer because of samples and/or lots of plugs being loaded. It’s kind of a trade-off, in that when I first start Cantabile at the gig, it loads the last song very quickly and I’m ready to go immediately.

I assume if I WAS using preload and programming the ‘correct’ way it would take Cantabile considerable time to load everything initially at launch. So in this sense I really haven’t suffered, and in one way it might be better programming in this fashion, because I HAVE had crashes and minor instability issues in the past, but recovery was very quick because Cantabile was NOT having to load a bunch of stuff upon re-launch…I guess just a different way of doing things.