SSD drives thoughts on brands

I am a little late to the party with SSD’s
I had a read of all the related threads.

Does anyone have any thoughts or experience with Samsung Evo 870?

I have no experience with them or others, I am still plodding along on WD black HDD’s
A saw a, I think, an OK deal on the 1Tb drives. I thought yep I’l transfer
both my HDD’s (boot and slave) on to those.
Cheers :slight_smile:

My Cantabile live machine and studio machine are all SSDs. I do like the Samsung 870 and 9xx SSDs

1 Like

I have a 1TB 870 Evo on my spare pc, never had issues. Another good low-cost SATA SSD is the Crucial MX500 series, while the cheaper BX500 is unreliable.

2 Likes

Samsung EVOs in everything over here. Never had an issue.
Don’t use their magician software or whatever it’s called. Use a low level format tool. Takes longer but the drive will be more reliable in the longterm.
Go for it :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thankyou everyone :slight_smile: seems Evo’s are the way to go.
I’ll order the first pair next week and see what a difference it makes.

Cheers :slight_smile:

+1 on Samsung Evo’s. I also have bought quite a few Crucial MX500 1TB and 2TB drives. Recently one just delivered was defective. While researching its problems I discovered that there have been enough defective SSDs from Crucial the past year for me to move back to only using EVO’s.

2 Likes

Anyway, my main gig PC has a M.2 970 Evo-plus and a Crucial P5. I never lost a bit…

2 Likes

I’ve got 3 music laptops with 2TB crucials MX500 that are working fine. I think the quality problems are more recent

3 Likes

Going by manufacturers own “TBW” (Terabytes Written) figures, Western Digital Red drives had the highest among the ones I looked at.

That’s a measure of durability in terms of how much you can write to a drive before you expect to see problems, including overwriting old files with new ones when you save changes to a file.