Recommendations for Drum Accompaniment

Hello,

I’m new to Cantabile, moving from Forte. I’m looking for recommendations or suggestions for drum accompaniment while practicing (although live use is a possibility).

Basically I’m looking for a ‘drum machine’ to practice with. I’m thinking about a drum VST that has a quick and simple way to pick a drum groove and tempo. Ideally with a good sounding drum VST and the ability to save the groove/tempo as a ‘song’.

I tried out Band In A Box, but it was way more than I wanted/needed. I’ve also played around with MT Power Drum Kit, but I can’t seem to be able to ‘save’ the patches/grooves. I’ve read about some others JamStix, EZDrummer, etc., but I’m looking for some recommendations. It seems most of the apps are designed to create tracks for a DAW - not for live accompaniment.

Thank you,

• David

Topiary Beatz - https://topiaryplugins.wordpress.com/topiary-beatz/ - I made it for exactly that case. You load a midi drum pattern (or several) in it, route to a drum sound source and there you go.

You can even load “variations” (like fills, intros, outros) midi clips in it, and then you can control it like an arranger.

And it’s free …

2 Likes

I use EZ drummer a lot. It’s a great program and works well with in Cantabile with the transport controls. However, I must warn you that it’s a bit of a black hole if you are not careful You get a lot of kits and midi files with purchase, but they sell add packs that you will be tempted to keep buying.

• Paul

I would vote for EZDrummer all the way. Sound expansions are kinda expensive but you probably won’t need any. Midi expansion kits are fairly reasonable though, plus you can use any GM drum MIDI with probably a minimum of tweaking.