PC spec and plugin count

Hi, I’m very new to Cantabile and yet to decide whether I’ll buy a full Performer license as I need a better understanding of what else I’ll need to buy in order to run this platform without audio glitches.
Have to say I think it’s a brilliant platform and love the flexibility and have a stable set up on my ancient, cheap-seats i5 laptop but I would liek to be able to be able to use some of the higher end piano plugins but not sure what PC spec’s are required etc.
I’d be grateful if any PC users of Cantabile could let me know what Soundcard they are using, what spec PC they have, whether it’s a laptop or Desktop and a list of the plugins you run so I can gauge what can be achieved with my budget range.

This has been my thought process when upgrading hardware. I assume that this PC will only be used for music production.

First off take a look at what you budget is; That will drive your decisions!

Second, you want to prioritize your spending in the following order:

1. Processor/motherboard
  2. Memory (at least 32G)
  3. Solid State Drive (NVME, 1T minimum) Typically the bigger it is, the faster it is.
  4. Sound module (if needed) This is the most important piece outside your PC. This takes the place of a soundcard in my system.

I don’t use a sound card or video card. Today’s motherboards have plenty of video power for what we are doing. As mentioned I use a separate sound module (MOTU 828x, $600 when purchased several years ago) and connect using USB2. There are better modules out there; search the forums for others recommendations. I have had really good luck with this module once they got the driver stabilized.
I like Gigabyte motherboards. You want to get the best you can afford and pair it with the best processor you can afford, and then add the best SSD you can afford. My latest build is based on:
Gigabyte Z790 UD AC ATX LGA1700 motherboard
Intel Core I&-13700K processor