If you run backing tracks from another app/program

I have been using Ableton Live for backing tracks for the past 4 years plus. I wanted to find a way to launch from my 128gb iPad Air First Gen (yes, old). This would free up resources to spend on Omnisphere 2.6 (which I use for everything from analog synths, to granular rich pads, strings and textures). O 2.6 is resource hungry.

I just found this app called Multitracker for iPad. It is incredible!! It links with multi output audio interfaces, has unlimited stems and each song can be mixed independently. The launching is fantastic and easy to see/navigate and songlists can be created, adjusted etc in minutes. This programmer covered each and every concern (I emailed complaints, read the manual, then apologized).

Now I can run O 2.6 and B3-X without stressing over the CPU load, C3 is in its own window, and backing tracks are not at risk of clicks and pops with an overtaxed system. Truly amazing.

It is here

2 Likes

Hello @Howifeel

I’m intrigued about your setup. Just to clarify, you have two separate sets of hardware like this:

1. Windows machine + Audio Interface 1 + Cantabile
  2. Ipad + Audio Interface 2 + Multitracker

Whereas originally you had

1. Windows machine + Audio Interface 1 + Cantabile + Ableton Live

… am I correct?

Cheers

You are correct about it seeming illogical.

Before change was:
LT + Montage + Audio interface + USB Ableton Launcher

The updated change is:
LT + Montage + Ipad + Audio Interface

The only real change is from Ableton launcher to iPad launcher. The benefit, however, is relieving the windows machine CPU from having to process Ableton audio and C3 simultaneously through two audio interfaces through one CPU. One interface for Ableton backing tracks (Uphoria 1820) and the other for C3 (the integrated Steinberg Audio interface in the Montage).