Expression Pedal Sensitivity in Volume Control (CC11)

I am using a Yamaha FC7 on a NI Komplete Kontrol S88 and am having some difficulty with volume change sensitivity in the low range of the pedal (eg. 1st 5-10 degrees has a steeper / less linear sensitivity). I have a CC11 binding set to master level gain in Cantabile. I’ve done some on-line research, have found reports of similar issues with compatibility between keyboards and pedals, with similar symptoms and specifically the FC7. I also came across some lists of different potentiometer and polarity standards on pedals (eg. 50k pot on Yamaha vs. 10K pot on others) and ways to address this through soldering, etc., which I would rather not get into, if that is even the cause. I was wondering if any of you came across issues like this and how you dealt with them. I was also wondering if Cantabile might have a way to compensate for this.

I may just have a hardware incompatibility thing going on here and I need to validate that. Unfortunately there isn’t much available from NI on requirements for the S88 or specs from the pedal makers either. I will probably reach out to them or Guitar Center (where I bought the keyboard) to get some additional insight. If necessary I’d just go out and buy something else, but I’m not sure what the specs or make should be on the replacement yet.

Do any of you have insights on Cantabile work arounds or similar experiences?

Thanks you.

Mike

Hi MIke,

Not sure about the hardware side of it, but you might be able to compensate for it in Cantabile with a velocity curve MIDI filter on the CC in question.

eg:

Brad

Concerning hardware: obviously there are 2 different standards out there. I had issues with the combination FC7 / UF7 (CME), f.e.

In my case a crossing adapter exchanging tip and ring solved the problem.

Regards, humphrey

PS: here a link with a closer description I posted in the forte forum:
http://brainspawn.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4272

Hey Mike,