Select Nord Stage 2 presets in Cantabile

Hi, I’m very new to Cantabile and liking it better by the minute. I now know how to create a setlist with different songs, with different song states.

If it’s possible, for each song (and/or state), I would like to select a specific preset on my Nord Stage 2 (HA88). That way, I could simply use my midi (controller) keyboard to go to the next song in the playlist and all sounds on both my midi keyboard and my Nord would be automatically selected in one go. Is that possible at all? And if so, can anyone explain how to go about this?

Cheers,
Herman

Hi Herman,

You can use bindings to send program changes on load of Song. Below is an example …

I wasn’t sure how you change Songs in your set list so I may have advised wrong.
The first example is for a straight program change and the second is for a banked program change. Hope this helps!
Dave

Thanks, Dave, I will give it a try.

Well, it took a bit of fiddling around but I am now able to load any desired program (preset) from my Nord Stage 2 using a binding in the song. I am sharing this in case anyone else is wanting to do the same thing: The binding looks like this:

• Source: Song
  • Event: On load
  • Target: External synth
  • Action: Programm Change (Banked)
  • Value: X.Y

Where:
X is the bank number (0=bankA. 1=bankB, 2=bankC, 3=bankD) and
Y is the preset within the bank

For example, to select the standard preset “Tom Sawyer”, which is Bank A, page 02, program:04 on the NS2, you type “0.9” as your value (each page contains 5 programs, “Tom Saywer” adds up as 5+4=9).
Actually, if you select a program in bank A, there is no need to start with “0.” because Cantabile will automatically assume this is the first bank. so in the axampe of “Tom Saywer”, you can simply ype “9” (in fact, if you DO type “0.9”, Cantabile will simply replace this with “9”). However, you do have too specifiy the other banks.