Why I switched from Forte to Cantabile

(warning – long post!)

I have been using Forte for over 10 years. In fact, I bought it the day it was released. Overall, it is a very good program and has served me well over the years. I don’t intend for this to be a Forte-bashing post. So why switch? Believe me, I asked myself that question several times. Changing software requires not only a monetary investment, but a huge time commitment, as well. The new software must provide some serious advantages to make the time and expense worth it. It took me about 30 hours of evaluating Cantabile to finally decide it was worth the pain of switching. So far, I haven’t regretted it.

Before I get into my reasons for switching, I do want to say that Brainspawn is a great company with a very good product and I appreciate all they have done to provide a platform designed for live VST use. There are several things I prefer about Forte, which I will get to below. In a nutshell, I think Forte is a better solution for someone that doesn’t require a lot of flexibility and doesn’t want to spend hours just learning the software. But in the end, there are four key reasons I decided to switch to Cantabile – stability, workflow, flexibility, and support.