Volume Changes between States

Although I have been using Cantabile for a couple of years now, I have come across an issue which I need to deal with, and that is sudden volume changes when moving from one state to another.

Mostly there is no problem when I am moving forwards through a song, but sometimes moving backwards to an earlier state will give a sudden full or high volume blast, especially when the previous state is quieter in volume than the one I am moving from. If I momentarily release all the keys as I move between states, there is no problem. I tried putting a limiter just before the final output, but that made little difference.

The “lifting my fingers” as I move is a work around, but is there something I am not doing when creating a state? Curiously the sound blast doesn’t always happen as described, just in certain songs.

Your help would be appreciated.

Are we talking states which use a different collection of plugins?

Yes we are. I will typically have Symphobia or Albion One for orchestral sounds, sometimes a couple of instances of whichever one I am using, plus on occasion a Woodwind library, maybe even a solo violin, Icon Bass, Cinematic Pads and Wavestate Native. It is tare for them all to be playing at once, so there will be variations going between verse, chorus and bridge sections. The problem usually only occurs when moving from louder to a quieter combination, and more often when I move backwards through the carious states.

Is there a particular culprit?

Not that I have discovered. There are so many with so many combinations that it would take a lot if trial and error to do so. As mentioned, it mostly happens going from a louder soundscape to a quieter one.

Some hypotheses:

1. look at the levels of the plugins that aren’t active in the changed state - if there are sounds still held and the level of the unused plugin is higher than in the previous state, this can explain some jumps from sounds carrying over.