Very minor caution about M-Audio Code-series keyboards (Code 49, etc.)

Hey all. I’m new to Cantabile but I’ve discovered an issue about M-Audio Code-series controllers that I thought I would share. Code-series controllers have Presents, which are essentially a collection of assignments for each knob, pad, etc. Very handy if you want one preset for Hammond organ, one for drums, one for synth, one for strings, etc. My new Code 61 has 12 Presents.

If users want Cantabile to send Program Change commands to the controller to switch preset assignments, regrettably, you can forget it. To my surprise, Code-series keyboards don’t respond to Program Change commands from hosts. So if you set up a binding to command your Code-series controller to change presents, your controller will just sit there and do nothing without even smiling. It turns out, M-Audio didn’t include this in their feature set for these controllers. And despite many requests from users, they still haven’t implemented it. It’s a silly omission, but there you have it.

1 Like

Hi Chris and Welcome!

Thanks for the heads up I know a few folks that have M-Audio Code keyboards, I’ll pass it along.

Dave

I do it the other way around: I have one fixed setting on my Code 61 and different settings/routings in a Cantabile rack. I can switch between them with states “Hammond”, “Drums” etc. That gives me much more flexibility.

Greetings, Tom

@MightyTonewheel, you should consider allowing Cantabile to handle ALL of your MIDI routing. This makes it a hell of a lot easier to simply swap out a keyboard when necessary. Plus, defining splits and layers is a whole lot easier in Cantabile as well.

1 Like