Using C3 Performer for live jam session VST host

Background: new user, recently upgraded my home studio with Lenovo ThinkPad with i7 processor with Windows 10, MOTU 828es audio interface with MOTU 8pre optical expander, and new/upgraded plugins (mostly Waves V11 VST3).

I used C3 Performer this weekend in a home jam session that my wife and I host. Basically, I routed 20 audio channels through C3 Performer with each channel getting a plugin chain of low latency plugins to allow me to have a basic setup where I could plug in mics, guitars, etc from whomever shows up and not have to fool around too much with setup of any one channel. I went through the glitch free book and applied the ideas from it, as well as a few others from the forum. I am a software architect by profession, so I think I did most of these correctly (meaning nothing seemed to onerous/ difficult for me to try and to apply).

When things were going well, it sounded great and the CPU was running just 10% to 15%. However, there were problems at times. Given the nature of the use, everyone was tolerant of little breaks in the action, just to tweak things when they occurred. Most of the bigger problems happened during setup before the jam. I will list these first and this involved C3 crashing when doing the following actions in the “wiring” view (I like that view other than the crashes!)

1. Inserting VST3 plugin
  2. Opening VST3 plugin to configure
  3. Dragging a port up or down to reorder
  4. Drawing/manipulating wiring connections
  5. Saving the “song” that holds the 20 channel wiring diagram