Sync audio sample to start with next bar

I’m wondering if there’s a way to start the global transport, and later trigger either a short audio sample or audio loop to start playing at the beginning of the next bar. I’m pretty new to Cantabile performer, but I’ve got a gig this Friday that I’d really like to have a working setup for.

I’m sending a click (using Cantabile’s metronome routed to an aux out) to the drummer, and running my keyboard patches through the mains. In one tune, I need to trigger an audio sample 8-bar loop partway through the song, which continues until the end; in another, I trigger a short audio sample every 8 measures. Unfortunately, in all cases, there are open repeat sections before each of these events, so I can’t just pad the audio file with silence, as it won’t always start/end in the same place. So far, we’ve managed pretty well with me just starting the loop partway through, but if our tempo drifts in the sections before the sample, it could cause issues. And when I need to trigger the short sample, my part is pretty involved, so getting it to start at the exact right instant has been almost impossible.

For the looped tune, I’ve created a region of exactly the right length, and created a binding from transport to the media player, and set up a button on my midi controller to start and stop transport. The problem is that this way, there’s no click for the first half of the tune, leaving us open to tempo drifts. Someone suggested having transport on the whole time with the sample muted, and unmute the sample on cue. But if the open repeats aren’t a multiple of 8, we might end up unmuting in the middle of the track. I know there are bindings for “Next Play Range” and “Next marker”, but I’m not totally sure how they work. I also tried using the sync options, but that seemed to kill the looping functions. Any suggestions?