Standalone Vst's

I purchased E Funk Snyth from Audio Lounge only to find out it has to work with a daw. I need to find a way to make it a standalone VST.
I’m a musician not a computer person I need Help!!

Welcome!

E Funk site says must have VST Host to play and does not mention stand alone application.

You have to install a VST Host (Such as Cantabile Lite, which is free) on your PC (Cantabile is PC Only). You will also need a way connect your controller into the PC (USB I presume) and then a digital to audio interface (USB I presume) to generate audio. Cantabile Lite will load the E Funk Synth and feed the midi to and the audio out. The hardest part will be setting up cantabile MIDI IO and Audio IO, but once you set it up, you should be good to go.

It sounds like you typically use a standalone app instead of a VST. The only difference is with a VST Host (like Cantabile Lite), you will run another VST Host program (Cantabile) and that program will open the VST. If you’ve been using stand alone apps for sound generation, you may be pleasantly surprised with using a VST host because of the song/file saving and control features.

1 Like

Hi there and welcome to the forum!
You’ll find that this community is very knowledgeable and very helpful - but you’ll also need to be prepared to do quite a bit of learning by yourself.

No offense intended, but if you don’t want to be bothered with this “computer stuff”, why buy a VST instrument? If you go down the route of using VST instruments or effects live, you’ll need to achieve a certain level of computer literacy in dealing with VST plugins, hosts, configurations, presets, routing, input and output configurations, etc. You can’t expect this community (made up of users, not professional support staff) to hand-hold you through every little step starting with the total basics.