Sending a midi note (for keyswitches) on state change

Hi!

I’m a newb to Cantabile, so excuse the possibly inane question!

I have a rack in Kontakt, containing several instruments on different MIDI channels. Some of the instruments have keyswitches to change between different articulations. My problem is, if I use one articulation in a song, then I go to another song with a different articulation on the same MIDI channel, it uses the previous articulation…

What I’m asking is, is it possible to send a MIDI note to engage the right keyswitch when you change from one state/song to the next?

I hope this makes some sort of sense!

Cheers,

Toaster

Makes a lot of sense - and this is what bindings are for. Create a binding with source “Song States” triggering “On Load”. Target this to your rack, with the action “Note” and the respective note. Also create another one to send “note off” for the same note.

Now make sure that “state behavior” is activated for “Target” for these bindings, so you can set different notes as target for different states.

Done!

Have fun!

Torsten

1 Like

Hi Torsten,

Thanks very much for the help, but it doesn’t seem to work!

I’ve set it up just as you’ve described and when I click on the play button next to the binding, the indicator flashes green, the plug-in is receiving some MIDI data on the right channel, but it’s not actually sending the note! I’ve included my song file so you can see, to check if I’ve been an idiot!
As you can see, at the moment, I’ve got a 2nd MIDI route to map the bottom notes of the keyboard to the Keyswitches which works fine if I’ve got time after the patch change to hit the notes but most of the time, I haven’t!

Thanks,

Pierce

Beggin’.cantabileSong (29.0 KB)

Hi Pierce,

I can’t really diagnose your song file, since it is missing the rack (Frankie Valli Default). Without it, all bindings show “missing target” and “invalid binding”.