Roland Pk-5a pedal Connection

Greetings. I’m new to Cantabile and enjoying it so far. I have a question that is probably more hardware related than about the software but I’m hoping someone can steer me in the right direction.
I’ve connected the pedals to my laptop via a MIDI to USB cable. The computer and the program recognize the connection, but when I press a pedal - nothing. no sound - No indication on the on-screen keyboard that there is any input. Has anyone with pedals had this experience? I have an oxygen-61 controller connected to another port and it works fine. Thank is a USB out from the keyboard. Do I need a different interface or is it an issue with a pedal setting?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks - Paul

I just did this today for the first time. I am fighting through this program with lots of frustration but got this to work. My big mistake was I didn’t make sure the MIdi to USB cable software was properly installed on my PC and not just partially installed. First create the external keyboard (I called it PK-5A) in Tools-Options_Midi Ports. Make sure it is created as an input. Then open the PK-5A in the inputs and External Speakers in the Output in the routing table so you can hear it. Under Preset/Destination choose any vst you want to use that you already installed. You should see the peak meters go up and down as you hit a key on the floor keys.

Thanks Chris. I can create the PK-5A in the inputs since the program recognized the connection, but don’t get a signal - no movement in the meters- when I press a pedal. I’m thinking it might be the MIDI USB cable. I’ll order a Roland UM-1 and see if that fixes the issue. Thanks for the quick response

Chris.
What Midi/USB cable are you using? I’m working with Windows 10 OS.
Thanks

Hey Paul and Welcome!

Are you referring to the MIDI route indicators when you say meters? A screenshot might help figure it out …

Dave

Hey Dave.
I’m referring to the gain meters in the upper left.
Hope this helps.