Reducing the CPU load

I had an issue with one pluging being very heavy on the CPU,
It later dawned on me the plugins own effects were the cause,
especially convolution reverb. I turned them off (and plugins with animations ).
(I’m not fond of aturias augmented strings,
too bloated and pretty looking with lots of wasted screen space)

All of the PC’s outs straight to a mixer, turned of the effects on the plugins
and used an external effects proccesor via the mixer instead. The CPU load dropped
dramatically. It might seem like an obvious fix for some, I didn’t realise until
last night. I’m still relatively new to Cantabile and plugins, It was cool having
a fix so easy, the answer was there all the time.

3 Likes

And don’t forget you can also add your own effects in Cantabile, which is probably better as all plugins are going through the same “master effects” (e.g. reverb) instead of their own, so less load and more blended space.

Whilst there are plenty of choices out there, if you haven’t already done so, check out Valhalla DSP Plugins. They are very reasonably priced, light on CPU resource, and no fancy graphics (to add to CPU).

They have some freebies as well, like SuperMassive (one of my favourite reverbs for ambient)

1 Like

… and if Convolution Reverb is your thing, my current (and long-standing) favorite is SIR3. Fairly light on CPU (for a Convolution) and drippingly gorgeous.

I generally turn off the internal FX in plugins (e.g. Respiro) and use SIR3 plugged into Cantabile. Exception is external hardware (e.g. a VL70-m or XpressO) which have their own on-board FX.

2 Likes

Thanks for tip, I will check those out later on, I had a brief look. It sounds like supermassive might a good one to look at (your using it, so it is good :wink: ) and
I imagine it might go well with some of the HollowSun plugins.

1 Like

All of my plugins effects are off now, I’ll make a sticky of this. External effects is doing