Reduce latency Thinkpad P15V Gen2

Dear all,

As my first experiences with Cantabile were good, I got myself a new computer to reduce the latency. My new system is an Lenovo Thinkpad P15V Gen2, intel i7-11800H, 32 GB, 1 TB SSD. I hoped that my latency would reduce to zero, but that is not always the case. I installed the ASIO - Yamaha Steinberg USB Asio Audio driver.

Up to now I have only free VSTs, so that may be a factor. My best results I have now with the Iowa Piano, which is a simulated piano. This would be almost acceptable, even on fast repeating notes, although still some latency is there.

I tried the Ivy audio Piano in 162 for a sampled version, using Sforzando as sampler. This has an unacceptable amount of latency, making it very difficult to play fast passages.

I further found out that using the live mode the performance is much better, showing that I am a beginner here.

My question to the forum is: What can I do to further decrease latency?
I also installed LatencyMon to get some data, but I couldnā€™t really understand a lot, apart from that it says that my system is suitable for real time audio.
Any tip is welcome!

regards,
Joop

An important metric is a simple ā€œRound Trip Latencyā€ ('RTL") - the time to send and send audio through your audio interface. In my experience, most of the lightweight VSTs I run introduce very little latency compared with the overhead of the interface and itā€™s buffers.

The RTL Utility by Andrew Jerrim of Oblique Audio is an excellent, free tool to measure the latency of an audio interface under various sample rates and buffer sizes (https://oblique-audio.com/). Itā€™s a little app that directly tests Round Trip Latency on an Audio interface with a loopback cable installed (just an audio cable from your Audio Out to your Audio In). I downloaded it most recently last November from https://oblique-audio.com/rtl-utility.php. Unpack it and run the app directly and it is pretty self-explanatory.