Plugin running on Cantabile with lower volume than standalone

Hi,

I’m fairly new to using Cantabile as my guitar rig system. One thing I’ve recently noticed was that the output volume was lower than when using the amp sim in standalone mode, despite the levels on the amp sim itself showing the same output. Here’s a few things I’ve tried:

• I tried this with both SGear and Nembrini Live Rig to make sure it wasn’t from a specific plugin.
  • I inserted just the amp sim on a new song in Cantabile, no other effects. Just a connection from Microphone to amp and output to main speakers.
  • Master gain on connections and Master are all set to 0dB.
  • Microphone and Main Speaker Port mix is set to 100%

The funny part is that when I add the the Media Player with a MP3 backing track, the track is quite loud. To match the outputs, I normally need to take out 12-15dB of the track.

I must be surely be missing something or is it normal that the plugin running on different hosts will have much different volumes?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Welcome to the forum!

I play guitar thru Cantabile. You didn’t provide how you are getting guitar into Cantabile, so I will tell you what I do. I am using a Focusrite as my connection. Understand, there are several points in the chain where volume can be adjusted. There are gains in my Focusrite software, as well as hardware pre-amp gains on the unit. Cantabile also has gain points throughout it’s routing. It is extremely important to set the pre-amp level, then use gain staging throughout the routing points. The amp sim should also have in/out gain points to adjust.

Your differing levels are probably (just guessing) determined by what you are using to interface with the standalone, and maybe something different interfacing with Cantabile, like different drivers.

Regards

Corky

1 Like

Hi,