Noobie to the max and trying achieve initial setup SOLVED

I am completely new to Cantabile and to midi so I need some rudimentary instructions. I have a Line 6 FBV Express MKII midi foot controller and M-Audio Fast Track Pro audio/midi interface, and electric guitar. How would these be connected to a Windows laptop and then output to an amp or PA system? Could someone point me to an article or video. I apologize in advance if this request is in the wrong forum area.

Thanks,
Jan

Install the proper drivers for the interface and controller. Hook up both to the computer with a USB cable.

Hook up the guitar to the input of the interface, and the output of the interface to the amp input.

Have a look at the front of the interface and make sure the “mix” knob is set completely to “PB” (playback). This ensures you will only get the effected sound, processed through the computer, as opposed to your clean guitar sound. Turning it to “in” will allow you to check that everything is actually hooked up and able to make sound.

Now, in Cantabile, in the settings menu, select Fast Track Pro ASIO as driver. Back in the main screen, adding an amp sim plugin (or any effect really) and connecting it on the left side to your audio input and on the right side to your audio output should give you sound.

1 Like

I don’t know if you are man or woman, but to me you are a prince or princess. Thanks so much for the quick and lucid response.

Jan

You’re quite welcome. To be fair, the above are the most basic steps and they don’t really do anything with your midi controller yet. But if, with a little luck, you get sound following those steps, we can work from there. And if not, you will have seen some screens and hopefully that will help getting you going :slight_smile:
Good luck!