New user of Cantabile

Hi, complete novice to DAWs, VSTs etc and have just downloaded Cantabile after reading lots of good reviews. How do I go about downloading and adding VSTs. Where is a good lace to start? Many thanks

Hi Jim, welcome to the forum.

First of all, A DAW is designed specifically for studio work, e.g. multitrack recording.
Cantabile is not a DAW, itā€™s a host program designed for those who use plugins (VSTs) and hardware gear in live.
This doesā€™t mean that you can use it at home for fun.

The choice of the plugins is a personal matter, depending on what kind of music you play, what instruments you are interested in. Lots of things.
Another point to consider is whether you are interested in free or paid plugins. They can be inexpensive or extremely expensive, although never as expensive as the original instruments they recreate.

1 Like

Thank you. Yes it would be for live performing, totally new to this so excuse the incorrect terminology. Either paid or unpaid, depending on the sounds. I mostly play a variety of 80s music.

Hi @Jimbob33 and welcome.

When I started using Cantabile, it took a while before getting used to the concepts and terms of the vst world.

I would start with some free vst plugin. Good places to look for them are the bedroom producers blog

and Kvraudio (search for ā€œkvr free vst pluginā€).

Make sure you understand the difference between 32bits and 64 bits plugins (and vst versus vst3 formats).

You have to create or choose the folders where vst plugin will be installed on your pc and you have to configure cantabile to look for plugins in those foldersā€¦you can find all the info in the video tutorials on youtube, in the user guide and searching this forum.

All the best,

Gabriel

2 Likes