New User - Global Rack question

Hi all,
Im new to the Cantabile Universe and I am loving the software.
I’m just wondering if a few of you Master Jedi could shed some light on a few good ways to implement the Global Rack. I kind of understand its purpose but there’s not a lot written about it in the user guides.

I am a guitarist and I’m using Cantabile to host amp sims and effects.

I know the post is somewhat vague but I appreciate any insight in to the Global Rack’s advantages.

Thank you
Your humble Padawan
:smiley:

I also would like to learn more about practical uses of the global rack.

Hi,

Ok here is how I use it and beleive me there are many ways to go. The idea is that this Global Rack is on all the time so any controller tasks that are common to All Songs in a SetList (Set list Song selectors, Song State selectors, Rack State selectors, Transport Controls, Play/Stop/Pause) as well as Any audio tools that were needed on every song (media players/ Universal Audio Routings) can be put here. Then you don’t have to copy them to each song or even have to plan that way when building a Set List. Also, in the case of the set list controller buttons, it’s the only way to get a level above the Song level so you can manipulate the Set List. So…

I put

• Transport controls
  • Set List controller buttons
  • Song State Controller Buttons
  • Rack State Controller Buttons
  • Guitar tuner pop up button

There are more applications but that is how I found it to be useful for me so far.

Regards

Ahhh, I see. So Dave, you use it more as a place to house ‘master controllers’ as opposed to signal processing? Would that be a fair statement?

Do you think the Global Rack could be a good way to process signal in a ‘master bus’ kind of way?

So for example: have an eq as a post processor, so when I go in to different venues, I can quickly tweak the overall sound to suit the venue. Then by saving that setting, it is applied across the board for the gig.