New user and I feel like an idiot

I am a lifelong musician, pretty advanced in performing, recording, arranging etc., and I have recently had an idea to take my music down another path, which has really excited me. The problem is, it is all so complicated to me and when I read about it, the terminology makes my head spin.

My goal is to use Cantabile for live, improvised performance with looping. I have numerous plugins set up and have been having a great time using MIDIGuitar 2, Mobius and numerous VSTi. I have managed to corral Mobius and set up a MIDI foot controller to access all necessary functions for each track. The problem for me is getting control of the other VSTs so I can make quick and easy changes. I kind of donā€™t even know where to begin with this, as changing plugins and patches manually is a real joy-suck. I was thinking that maybe I would set up a single VST patch for each MIDI channel and just scroll through to get what I want with a MIDI Mouse foot controller, but my instincts are telling me there has to be an easier way.

Also, something as simple as setting up a carrier (microphone) for the Arturia Vocoder is maddening to me. Iā€™ve read several threads about it, but I need the For Dumber Dummies version, as none of it is clear to me.

Oh well, sorry to be such a downer with this as I really am enjoying it, but my goals are far beyond my abilities when it comes to even knowing where to begin. Itā€™s just extremely frustrating.

Best,
Mike

Hi Mike

Welcome to the forum

I am using the Performer version of Cantabile. You are thinking in DAW setup mindset. Cantabile is a live performance program. I know you are wanting to use it live, but you have to adjust to our terminology, which takes awhile. Cantabile very powerful and has quite a learning curve, and normally takes a few weeks to get a feel for things. Itā€™s something that will take patience and endurance.