MIDI Footswitch Controller

I made this MIDI compliant foot switch from a modified Behringer FS114 and an Arduino Uno. I programmed it to send CC 111-114. Very nice micro switches, extremely well built in a heavy metal case and stays put on the floor.
If anyone wants, I can post the wiring diagram and Arduino code to build your own. It can be programmed to send any MIDI command on each of the four switches. I bullt this one in less than an hour.

4 Likes

Surely you may share your schematic. I’m a hardware and software designer for industrial devices, and I built myself a few devices for my musical setup, during the years. I don’t know the Arduino platform (better: I know the hardware, but not its programming environment), so I’m a bit curious about your DIY project.

Paolo

The schematic is too simple. In the Behringer there are five leads to the attached cable. One ground and four from the switches. I removed the cable and soldered connections to the Arduino digital inputs and ground. That’s it for the wiring schematic!
Programming the Arduino (which I had never done) was a piece of cake. There were several examples on the web which were very easy to modify for my project. The MIDI.h file is available on the Arduino site.

#include <MIDI.h>

MIDI_CREATE_DEFAULT_INSTANCE();

int readSwitchNew; //footswitches
int readSwitchNew2;
int readSwitchNew3;
int readSwitchNew4;
int readSwitchOld;
int readSwitchOld2;
int readSwitchOld3;
int readSwitchOld4;

//MIDI Control Numbers

#define footSwitch1CC 111
#define footSwitch2CC 112
#define footSwitch2CC 113
#define footSwitch2CC 114

#define defaultChannel 2

void setup() {
MIDI.begin (MIDI_CHANNEL_OFF); //start midi

Serial.begin(31250);
//configure pins as an input and enable the internal pull-up resistor

pinMode(2, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(4, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(6, INPUT_PULLUP);
pinMode(8, INPUT_PULLUP);

}

void loop() {

//read the Footpedal Switches value into a variable
readSwitchNew = digitalRead(4);