Linked Racks: Exported State & Gain Level - Control by Rack State or Song state?

Hey folks! I’ve been using Cantabile Performer for a few months now, but I’m really having trouble wrapping my head around controls in linked racks. Perhaps I could explain how I’m currently set up and what issues I’m experiencing, and someone could suggest a better setup.

I mostly use Arturia V Collection for my plugins. I’ve created a linked rack for each type of keyboard/synth: one for rhodes, one for Wurli, one for the Jupiter, etc. Each rack is essentially just MIDI In → Plugin → Audio out, which gets routed at the song level from the appropriate keyboard to the appropriate audio out. Each rack has a few states, each representing either a specific preset for a specific song, or a general preset that gets used across a few different songs (eg: dark rhodes, bright rhodes, etc). The rack state should be constant for a given song, regardless of song state, though I do occasionally have bindings within the rack to change a few parameters for different song states (such as bypassing a built-in effect).