JRiver to Cantabile

I am a newbie. I need help/guide on how to send music from JRiver to Cantabile so that I could add two third party VST to them. I have tested the VST and both of them work in 32 bit Cantabile.

I intend to send the stereo channels of 2.0 or 5.1 format music to Cantabile and split the stereo (front left and right) to 11 more pairs.In Cantabile, each stereo channel will go through the VST. One VST with different setting for each stereo channel. I am basically using only two different VST but each with different setting.

I have Motu 24Ao interface.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thank you.

ST

I can’t say that I fully understand what you’re trying to do, but it sounds more like a job for a DAW (and get JRiver out of the equation) than for a piece of performance software like Cantabile.

Cockos Reaper would be a good start - it supports surround formats and hosts VST plug-ins. You will be able to split and manipulate the audio in any way you want.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. You are the second person to suggest Reaper but my progress there is slow compared to Cantabile.

This is basically a system with 22 speakers. Except for the main speakers, the rest produce the ambience of a concert hall using unique impulse response for each pairs of other speakers.

The closest I managed to do this is with Audiomulch connected via virtual cable. Somehow, I can’t send multi channel sound through the cable.

I am unable to use DAW alone because I have 30000 songs in various format. It is easier to set the playback to 44.1 in JRiver. I thought this kind of implementation should be straight forward but it has been about a year I am looking for a solution.

Thank you once again, The _ Elf for giving a suggestion.