Introduce myself

Hi All

I thought that I would introduce myself. My name is John. I have been reading this forum for about 2 1/2 years. I am a private person and don’t feel a great need to say too much.

I am a retired software engineer, developer, architect and system integrator. (when you as old as I am there was time to do many things). A lifelong musician, my 15 minutes of rock and roll fame was in 1966, and the last time I actually played for my supper was about 30 years ago at a rooftop restaurant on the island of Santorini. Now I have a very simple home setup (Cantabile Solo) for my own pleasure.

I would llike to complement first, Brad and Cantabile for a fine product. Anybody who knows me would be surprised that I would ever use Windows again. In my long and painful experience, Microsoft has no respect for their product, customer or developers. End of rant. I am a Linux user.

I would also like to give a shout out to the fine contributors to this forum. When I have needed information, I have been able to find it in the manual, videos and the contributions to this forum.

I do have a curiosity question. There seems to be a preferrence for external control surfaces rather than the touch screen capabilities of Cantabile, to which Brad has seemed to pay some attention. I use an X-touch Mini. I have plenty of experience with remote synchronization, control, communications, etc., in other areas, and it is sometimes necessary to solve a problem, but it does add a lot of complexity and lowers robustness. Why do you think that the control surfaces are preferred? Do we just like to grab physical knobs?

Thanks

2 Likes

Hi @john, and welcome to the forum from a fellow linux user! :wink:

I use Linux for work and Windows for music and I agree that Cantabile is such a fine product.