How to start drum machine vst

I’ve downloaded a drum machine VST (Jamstix) and want to get it to play. I’ve loaded the VST and got it all ready to go. How do I trigger it to start playing? All the videos of Jamstix show it in a DAW where there is a “play” button that gets it playing. I don’t see such a UI feature in Cantabile. I’m pretty new to this kind of thing.

For now I’m just looking for any way to get it going. Eventually I’ll try getting my midi foot controller involved.

This solid green triangle?
Media Player, Sequencers, etc. require the Cantabile Play Button to be activated. This can be done with a binding from an external midi device, too. If the Measures in the middle on Cantabile are not incrementing, nothing is playing. The 21 2.092 below:
Effect VST’s Instrument VSTi’s will work fine with no playing, but other items (media player, sequencer) will be dead in the water. I wasted a lot of time trying to get CCstepper (CodeFN42) to “STEP” and all I needed to do what hit play!

Thanks @easteelreath. My play triangle is enabled when I choose “Metronome” and disabled for “Sync. to MIDI Clock”. When I press it for Metronone I just hear the metronome. Does something else need to be ‘wired’ up to get a VST plugin to respond to it?

Jamstix requires MIDI tracks to trigger the drum sounds. So you need a media player with a MIDI drum track loaded in it and then the MIDI out from the Media player would route to the the jamstix plugin.

1 Like

So… pre-program the midi drum file, load into Cantabile Media Player, Send midi out of Media Player to Jamstix, audio out of Jamstix to Cantabile audio out? Press Cantabile play then there should be an audible drum track.

I did not realize jamstix is only a sound generator and not a self-player.