How are you using eq in your mix?

Sorry if this has been covered in a previous thread but how are you using EQ to shape your sounds, particularly pads and organ. Does it make sense to roll off some of the bottom on these kinds of sounds, particularly below 300 Hz? I’m thinking particularly about some of the M1 pads which have a lot of bottom. If I’m playing with a bass player it seems like these sounds could conflict and muddy the overall quality of the bands audio.

And what’s your EQ plug-in of choice?

Torsten has the best answers. Read his many comments.

He has many other examples in other threads.

Thanks Corky, I’m familiar with both of these threads (in fact, I started the 2nd one). Chocked full of good information. But neither addresses my question about EQ settings for pads and organ sounds. I did a search for “master eq” but could not find specific suggestions

Yeah, I knew that was your thread, lol. In a live situation, I never sit on the same side as Bass Player, just because of the conflict with Organ. I’ve not really rolled off a pad or Organ, because those frequencies are very essential to the richness of their sound. That happens with pianos as well. As long as the bass is not on top, or next to the key sounds, it is not a problem. Separation is the key, without sacrificing tone.

Hi Lee, Corky

I tend to buld my sound more with a “producer’s ear” than with a “player’s ear”: as a musician, you may want your sounds to be “muscular” and “beefy”, i.e. with a healthy dose of lower mids. That holds particularly for guitarists, who have been socialized on amps blowing their sound towards the back of their knees, so they expect a sound that is heavy on the lower mids range. Also Hammonds are pretty beefy animals when standing on their own; pianos have significant energy in that range as well.