Help with refreshing states/patches etc

OK, so I’ve been using Cantabile now for 6 months or so and there are some things I’m not getting to grips with.

I’m using a Novation Impulse keyboard which uses templates.
Not enough templates onboard, and no facility to send “all templates” to the thing anyway, so I’m sending a sysex ‘template’ file every time a song loads. Works fine but is another step in the process.
I’ve also set up a binding to a keyboard button that will send the sysex file again and refresh the default song state.
I’ve set up all my songs to use Linked Racks for the VST’s common system-wide.
I’ve also setup Rack States for each of these to manage patches, which are then recalled by Song States.

Example: I’m using a string part and edit the patch while I’m playing (lets say I tweak the cutoff or resonance or something) while in song state 1, then change to song state 2.
When I go back to state 1, I’d like it to recall the state as it was when the song was saved. (i.e not contain any edits I’ve made to the patch in the mean time)
Both the Rack States and Song States have the refresh option checked (not really sure what this does tho!)

I’m assuming this is because allowing Cantabile’s ‘Preset’ system to manage the patches means it doesn’t actually unload the patch from the VST thereby refreshing the patch it when it loads again (if that makes sense?)
If I use Program Changes directly to the VST it’s fine, but then I can’t see the patch name in Cantabile.

There’s probably something super simple that I’m not doing correctly, or just haven’t stumbled onto the right combination of things yet!

I’m trying to set it up so that it works the same way for each ‘Rack’ rather than have some Songs/VST’s changing patches directly, some relying on states etc, which would allow me to then simplify the 'template file going to my keyboard as far as controller numbers, program change numbers, banks etc.