HELP! Cantabile crashing A LOT

Hi @brad and gang.

I’ve got a major problem!

Cantabile has been solid as a rock since I’ve been using it for more than a year.

Yesterday, I started programming for a new show, using a few more Kontakt racks than I usually do and a synth (Structure) and a Kontakt library (Angelic Harp) that I’ve not used before. About 3 hours into the programming Cantabile started to hang every couple of minutes, seemingly at random. Because of the hanging, it obviously took an age to program…

I’ve come to the band call for the show today and it’s hanging again, just going through the set list. At random, not in the same places, it can happen anywhere.

Last night, I tried re-installing the soundcard drivers (RME BabyFace Pro), rolling back windows updates, uninstalling and reinstalling Cantabile (and older versions). I’ve also tried disabling the new synths and libraries in the racks, all to no avail!

The show starts on friday so I need to get this sorted asap!

Anyone have any ideas what I can try, or how to troubleshoot this?

Thanks in advance as always for any help.

Pierce

My suspicion would be the new Structure synth you’re using. I doubt a Kontakt library could cause a crash, but you never know. Do you get crashes when you have a setlist loaded that doesn’t use Structure?

If you sent crash reports, @brad should be able to identify the source of it, to at least tell you what to suspect.

Neil

1 Like

Hey Pierce,

First check your system for latency with this tool. It will often point to what is causing the hanging. The test is run with no other apps running except background type services. I had my Win 10 system hang that way when it wanted to update itself so any number of things could end up explaining it.

http://www.resplendence.com/latencymon

Also check the Kontakt Standalone to see if the Cantabile program is the only problem program. That’s where I’d start.

Dave

Hey Pierce,