Headless desktop (sffpc/ITX) for live playing

I’m new to cantabile and enjoying a lot. However, I’m a keyboard player and I’m more used to hardware sound modules or ROMplers.

I’m looking to play patches from 2-5 different VSTs one at a time and maybe 2 at a time at most, sometimes.

Just some Roland VSTs:

• JV-1080/XV-5080
  • Zenology
  • SRX models

I happen to have an extra desktop PC not in use which consists of:

• Ryzen 7 3700x CPU
  • 1TB SSD
  • 16 GB RAM
  • RTX 3090 GPU

Obtaining a laptop with similar performance would cost a lot. Now, I’ve been reading here in the forums about people using Intel NUCs in live settings with cantabile, even without screens and only using remote desktop access when needed. This sounds a lot like what I’d need for live playing, considering I’d mostly just be playing my keyboard and the only interaction with the VSTs would be to change patches/sounds.

However, my mid tower desktop is hardly portable, I’m wondering if anyone here does any mini form factor desktop pcs for live playing. ITX, sffpc and the like. Would it be a good idea for me to obtain a small PC case and mini motherboard in order to transform my desktop ? Ideally, I’d make it a dedicated headless cantabile/VST PC where I just turn it on and if everything loads correctly I can just start playing.

Another question would be internal audio interfaces with midi ports. The most important part for me is latency, I have a USB presonus Studio 24c that does an excellent job but are there any internal audio cards that would make more sense here given the added portability?

Hi there and welcome to the community!

There’s a couple of us working with NUCs and mini PCs - there’s a whole thread on that topic:

https://community.cantabilesoftware.com/t/mini-pcs-nucs-update/