External synth patch changes

Hi all, total newbie question here. I’m looking through the guides, but I don’t see anything about controlling external synths from Cantabile performer. Just wondering if anybody could point me in the right direction for documentation.

For background, what I’m trying to do is program a long sequence of keyboard splits/layers/patch changes – I’m playing for a musical. Seems like keyboard books nowadays assume the use of mainstage, and just trying to figure out if I can do what I need in Cantabile. Not using any plugins, just trying to use a Yamaha Motif XF7.

Thanks!
david

My approach with the MoXF 8 was to just put the Motif in song mode and let Cantabile send it patch change messages on all 16 MIDI channels.

Hey thanks. I can try that…

Just on a more basic level though, how do I set it up to send patch changes to an external synth though?

I’m not an expert by any stretch, but I do trigger a lot of patch changes with Cantabile-- it’s the most common use case for my setlist. I have them set as a binding for each song. The binding is trigged on Song / On Open, and sends the program change I want. Not sure about your keyboard, but for my Alesis which has multiple banks, I send two commands: one for the bank and one for the individual program change.

1 Like

I just set up racks for instrument types with rack states for the patches, with a state dependent On Rack Load bind that sends the appropriate Banked Patch Change message. Load the rack, set the MIDI Out to the Motif on the channel you want, and select a rack state.

1 Like

Hi, I’m actually writing a guide to show others on how I have setup Cantabile Performer in a setup that mixes external synths with VSTs (some people on Yamaha forums were asking!). Hope to have the first draft by the weekend.

2 Likes

For maximum flexibility, I’d suggest the following

• set the Motif to multitimbral mode (Mixing mode, I guess)