Cover Band - Get Lucky

I’m using Cantabile in a couple of cover bands now. Since Vocoders are problematic live for a few reasons, including multiple tracks overlaying each other, I’m recreating some of the vocoder tracks and sampling them instead.

Based on feedback in the forum I got the TAL Vocoder and have been working on getting some of the cover tunes put together. Unfortunately I’ve never used a vocoder before, and after giving up on Vocalizer Pro I found that TAL worked pretty well.

However, here’s the rub - While the lyric track clearly says “Get lucky”, the vocoder output sounds far more like " “Luck You” (or a variation of that phrase than “Luck-y” . Maybe my brain is hearing it oddly, so I’m hoping that someone can listen and confirm what I’m hearing and offer some ideas -

Here are links to both the raw tracks and another for the vocoded tracks -
https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgI4alEB_x0bjeBUe8lgNs6CDiy_tA?e=wupAfJ Tracks

Help?

Pat

Hi PatAzzMusic,

to me the vocoded track sounds the way it should – as “Luck-y”.

1 Like

I use a vocoder live for Get Lucky and honestly people love it. I obviously can’t nail it as cleanly the way Daft Punk did it in the studio but it’s still worth it for the effect. If your audience simply wanted just the best sound they could put on a CD.

Something to consider.

Hi @PatAzzMusic
You may also try reaching https://www.reddit.com/r/synthrecipes/.

I dug a bit deeper. The Carrier sound (mini V) didn’t have enough overlap in-between notes. I updated that (via MIDI - gotta love a technology that’s 37 years old) so that the note butted up against each other and it resolved most of the issue.

The Reddit group is pretty cool - I signed up this morning and have been reading a bit… I’ll be posting after tonight’s gig (piano - a Sinatra tribute show :slight_smile: ).

Just my 2 cents.