Cantabile for Beginners Guide

Some time ago, I started creating a Cantabile Guide for absolute Beginners, in order to address some of the typical “I’m new to all this…” newbie questions and avoid us “old hands” having to answer these same questions multiple times over and over again.

I never really found the time to finish this, so maybe a collaborative effort may help here. To make this a somewhat orderly process, I’ve now created a GitHub repository for this. If you want to contribute, get an account on GitHub, then create a “fork” to get a copy of the repository and work away on your additions to the ReadMe.md file (you’ll have to be able to write Markdown syntax for that).

Once you’re done, create a “pull request” on my original repository to have your changes integrated into the master document.

Here’s a bit of “how-to” on how to create a fork and pull requests.

This may be a bit convoluted at first, but it will allow me to have a more orderly process of managing the contributions and ensure a cohesive document than just have everybody add stuff wildly in a public Google document.

Here is the repository on GitHub:

There’s already a bit of fundamental content and an overall structure in there, so this may already help absolute beginners on their first steps. And if we “old hands” pull together, this can become a decent go-to-document for newbies here.

Cheers,

Torsten

4 Likes

If you remember, “trust” members were in a “Lounge” group some time back where this was discussed. We made a layout of topics, and planned videos for beginners. We also routed beginners to Brad’s videos and guides. The reason for this was a huge surge of newbies, all asking the same basic repetitive questions. The forum members stayed busy with those questions. The ideas never came to fruition, but we did direct newbies to Brad’s media for awhile…