Cantabile doesn't find .NET

Newbie here (but not to VSTs and such). I downloaded and installed the demo version today on my Win11 laptop. Everything seemed to work fine, except:

• Twice during the installation process, I was notified that Cantabile needs .NET, and asked if I wanted to download it. I said Yes both times, but nothing seemed to happen (no further downloads or popups).
  • After installation, running the program shows the same message. Whether I say Yes or No, the prompt closes and nothing else happens.
  • I check my installed programs, and I already have .NET 6.0.9 x64 (and 5.0.8 x86) installed. I even did a Repair on .NET – couldn’t hurt – even though other installed programs are already using it. Nothing changed.
  • I rebooted Windows. No difference.

What am I doing wrong?

Regards,
-BW

Solved my own problem. In case it’s useful to someone else …

Cantabile doesn’t seem to recognize .NET 6.0. I had .NET 6.0 installed for x64, and 5.0 for x86 (from some legacy need, I guess). I found that Cantable 4 would open in 32-bit, but not 64-bit.

• I uninstalled every version of .NET on my PC, and rebooted.
  • Then I installed the latest versions of both the x86 and x64 .NET desktop runtime (6.0.9). Cantabile would no longer open in either program mode.
  • Added .NET 5.0.17 x86 and x64 to the PC. Now, Cantabile opens in either mode. :grinning:

Theoretically, .NET 6.0 should be a superset of 5.0, but this isn’t the first time I’ve needed multiple generations of a runtime library to make everyone happy. .NET 5.0 is unsupported at this point, so if the Cantabile staff reads this, you might want to look into the problem.

Regards,
-BW

1 Like

Hi @drawbars,

welcome to the community. I am glad you solved your problem.
Maybe @brad, Cantabile’s developer, would be interested to hear about it.

All the best,
Gabriel