Bidirectional bindings do not work well with x-touch mini

Hello everyone!
I’m new to Cantabile and I’m having problems with mapping X-touch mini controller to VST plugin parameters.

This controller features endless encoders to naturally I wanted any changes in plugin parameter to be reflect back to controller as well.

So I created a pair of MIDI->VST and VST->MIDI bindings. This technically works but parameter adjustment via the knob is very inconvenient: went turning the knob smoothly the parameter is not adjusted as smoothly but jumps around back and forth by small steps while incrementing/decrementing. As if there is some conflict between these 2 bindings - when rotated knob sends MIDI CC to Cantabile it’s immediately translated to VST parameter change but then the reverse binding fires too and encoder led status reflects this but know was rotated a little more since and that probably confuses Cantabile.

I’m pretty sure someone else encountered this problem, but couldn’t find any solution…

Hi qyron and Welcome to the Forum!

Could you post the bindings you use for both directions? On a BCR2000 a typical binding set would look like this

The master input gain and rotary encoder CC97 with feedback for LED ring

Cheers,

Dave

Yeah, I’m following the same scheme.

Here I’m trying to map between some slider in Garritan CFX piano VST and and endless encoder on X-Touch mini:

Here is a video of the slider on VST GUI when I’m turning the knob back and forth: https://youtu.be/GtqCBPV1yZw

If I temporary disable VST->MIDI binding while leaving MIDI->VST one on, the slider moves smoothly because now there is no “fight” between the bindings.

Hi qyron,