Beginner's help for using a Reverb effect

I’m a little bit in a hurry, because although I’m an advanced mucisian, I’m not an engineer so having made many mistakes (including installing a wrong version of Cantantabile!), I still don’t have a clue how to add the reverb plug-in I bought (Spaces II) to my Synthogy Ivory American D - and my evaluation time is running out.

The instructions given in the Cantabile manual don’t work for me, and the instructions in the Spaces II manual aren’t compatible with the Cantabile terminology.

Can anyone help? I don’t need a carreer switch to studio engineering, I don’t have to understand what’s going on under the hood, just knowing what menu items to click will suffice for now. When I can finally hear some satisfying sounds out of my headphones, I can purchase Cantabile.

Hi Cryptografiek,

Since I don’t know how far along you are with Cantabile install I assume you have installed it and set up the audio engine part of it. Without that done nothing will go. If it’s done the next thing required is that the Ivory Vst and the reverb Vst are in a folder on the diskdrive that Canatbile can search to register the plugins. If that is done then you go to a new song and click “Add Object” on the main route pane and choose plugin.

select your piano plugin (i used mini grand instead of Ivory for example)

and it will load into a slot on the song. Repeat the “Add Object” steps and add the reverb Vst

Then you route the piano plugin to the reverb plugin

and then route the reverb to the speaker output

Done, it should make music.

You can adjust the reverb by opening it’s interface (double click the plugin name on the slot)

This will hopefully get you started there.

Cheers,

Dave

2 Likes

Thank you very much for your help, Dave. I’ve spent some hours trying to make it work, but it still doesn’t give me any acceptable results. It even brings Cantabile to a hold.