Backing tracks, click track, need advice

I hear a lot on this forum about using the media player to trigger backing tracks for performances. I’m at the point that I need to do this. The band needs to learn a song which has EP, string and horn parts intermittently throughout the song. Obviously, I only have two hands, plus I will be singing background vocals. I have the idea that I need to pre-record the horn and string parts throughout the song to the beat of a click track. The recorded click track would be primarily for the benefit of the drummer. He’s played with a click track before, but we’ve never tried pairing that with prerecorded instrument parts. For those of you that are familiar with what I’m trying to do, how are you doing it? Are you using Cantabile exclusively or are you laying down tracks in a DAW, rendering all into one file and then triggering that in Cantabile with the media player? I use Reaper for my DAW although I’ve never done anything like this before.

Any suggestions for this newbie would be appreciated.

In my case, I create a mp3 backing track for each instrument in the total backing track. As a solo, I sometimes have players sit in and this method means I can simply mute out a part from the backing track dynamically whenever it is required.

I alos have a version of the backing track that is all the parts mixed together!

A great (although not really touted) feature of C3 is the ability to load up several media players with several individual media files but have the all syned to start and stop at the same time. Simply brilliant haha!

1 Like

naaaaah - just re-arrange the song so it works with your two hands. Copying the originals 1:1 is boring - people could just listen to a CD.