Cantabile not releasing resources? (Resolved - Don't use creators update on a Surface Pro 4)

Hi Guys,

I am very new to all this ( including playing keyboards ) and just starting to experiment.

The machine I use for running Cantabile 3 is a W10 Surface Pro 4 that I use for a limited selection of other things ( including listening to music ).

However, what I am finding is this;

When I start Cantabile 3 and load in a VST ( something like VB3 ), all plays well until I close down the program and then try to use the machine for something else.
What I then find is that other programs can no longer access the sound device, and should I then re-start Cantabile, the right channel produces a very loud hiss whenever any notes are played.
This is using the devices internal sound card via ASIO rather than driving an external interface device.

Restarting the machine normally has no effect, and up to now, the only way I have been able to reset everything is by doing a hard restart.

Any Ideas?

Thanks, Peter.

Could you clarify how you are doing that? Is it via ASIO4ALL? Voicemeeter? VB HiFi Cable?

Sounds like sync is being lost during a transition after shutting down Cantabile and never regains stability.

Terry

I tend to suspect this will come down to a audio driver issue. Definitely need to know what you’re using. :wink: By and large, the interanal card is not the way to go, though using ASIO4ALL can do a decent job.

I’d be suspicious of the audio driver too. Make sure you’ve got any available updates for it installed.

Also, it’d be interesting to check Cantabile’s log file to make sure the driver is being correctly cleaned up and unloaded when Cantabile is closed. Try this:

1. Reset your machine to get things back to normal.
  2. Start Cantabile
  3. From the Tools menu, choose Open Settings Folder.
  4. Close Cantabile.

From the folder opened in step 3, take a look at the file log.txt. You should see something like this: