First live show using Cantabile 3

Well, on Friday I had my first gig with Cantabile 3, playing with IQ, headlining at the Reichenbach Art Rock Festival in Germany. I’ve been using Cantabile 2 live for a couple of years now, with quite a complex setup, and so migrating everything over to Cantabile 3 has taken a while. But I’m happy to report that the gig went really well, and Cantabile performed flawlessly!! Here are a few photos - one of my keyboard rig on its riser backstage (surrounded by clutter) before the show, showing Cantabile 3, and two taken during the show. Next stop Norway and Sweden in a few days!

Neil

7 Likes

Looks really great Neil! Love your rig. I used C3 for the 1st time 2 weekends ago. It went very smoothly. I worked on improving my setup this past week, and gigged again this weekend. I am really impressed with C3. I had some stability problems with C2, so I was skeptical when trying this version. So glad I gave it another chance. I am further impressed with Brad’s commitment.

1 Like

Thanks Corky! Glad your C3 system is working as nicely as mine!!

Hey Neil,

That’s so cool. Really pleased to hear it worked so well. And I love seeing photo’s like this - makes it real!

Brad

2 Likes

Rather than start a new topic I would like to resurrect this one, although it only partially applies.

Although I have been using Cantabile for live shows for a year and a half, I’ve limited its function to MIDI routing only. I use it to control all routing, processing, filtering, Program Changes, key-ranges and layering for my Nord Stage 2, Kronos, and two rack synth modules. Workflow wise, I have a MIDI foot controller that I organize the setlists in, and it sends PC messages to Cantabile which in turn shoots out PC messages to all my units, and configures all the routing and filtering.

Using it just for MIDI, the song changes take about 300ms or so. This works well for our “no hesitation between songs - keep 'em dancing” style.