Absolute beginner

Hi all. I’m a very very amateur musician (use the word musician very loosely) that likes playing with the tech more than playing the music.

Please help…I am struggling. In the past have used Brainspawn and so I am probably troubled by the terminology more than anything else.
The scenario is:

1 song

Intro verse bridge chorus bridge2 verse chorus outro…8 “scenes”

3 vst’s are used…piano sound…string sound and orchestra sound

“intro” uses just the piano

“verse” is a combination of piano and string sound etc etc

To change between these “scenes” I pressed a button on my controller keyboard (A800) to change scenes forwards or backwards

I am really struggling to get started…I have got may keyboard to talk to the vst’s so I know I have audio but could really do with a dummies guide and step by step approach to helping me if anyone has the time or patience please?

Hi Neil,

To setup this in Cantabile, take a look at states:

http://www.cantabilesoftware.com/guides/states

Roughly these are the steps:

1. Create a new Song
  2. Add each of the plugins you need.
  3. Create 8 states, one for each song part. Intro, verse, etc…
  4. In each state, enable just the plugins you need. You could either suspend the plugin, or better turn off the MIDI route that connects your keyboard to each plugin (that way you won’t get cut off sounds).
  5. You should be able to cycle through the states (double click them on-screen) and get the different combinations of plugins you need.
  6. You can then create “bindings” to cycle between the states via a MIDI button. In the bindings tab, create a binding and set the source to your MIDI button (use the learn function) and select next state as the target. Once bound you should be able to press the MIDI button and jump to the next state.