Purchase upcoming, opinions requested. Would you bother with another hardware synth?

Hi, all

Currently I “between bands/gigs”, having left Welsh Floyd to pursue my own music, and because of the day job I can only commit to weekend gigs, which was going to cause a problem with the Floyd band at some point. So I intend to get back to my own stuff which has been languishing on the shelf for too long. I am now the wrong side of 50, so feel it is better to try my own stuff, even if it fails, rather than spend another 10-20 years playing Pink Floyd (iconic and timeless music that its), and I have been doing the 'Floyd for 10 years; it has taught me a hell of a lot, but it is time for a change.

Anyhow, I will have some spare dosh coming my way in a month or so that I can splurge on musical toys, so the G.A.S is starting to bubble :slight_smile:

My current gig rig, keyboard wise is a Roland FC300 Foot controller, Yamaha EX5 (main controller) and a Korg Kronos (top tier). Then I have a laptop running Cantabile - I used that in Pure Floyd to host backing tracks, the light show and NI B4II, but in Welsh Floyd I had the organs in the Kronos, so Cantabile was just running the backing tracks and light show in that incarnation of the band. Oh, I have also gotten my Nord G2 engine back in service in the gig rack. :slight_smile:

Now I certainly intend getting a decent Brick PC similar to the ones being suggested in other topics, and getting Cantabile at the heart of the rig (instead of at the end of the chain) so it can run the plethora of VSTis that I have - the current laptop is not quite up to the job.