Need Advice on Electric Guitar VST Files

I am using Cantabile as a player for guitar VST files. Cantabile itself is working fine. The problem I’m having is finding VST files that deliver sounds like I’m used to hearing in commercial songs. So far I am only using freely-available VST files. Fiddling with all the settings within each VST file does not seem to bring out the ‘real’ sound I am looking for. Acoustic guitars come out fine. However ‘electric’ and ‘bass’ guitars make sounds but they just don’t sound like what’s on the CD or radio.

As examples, look at the intros to Rolling Stones songs such as Honky Tonk Women, Gimme Shelter, and Start Me Up; I’d like to create something like those, but I can’t come up with anything that sounds like any of them.

I’m a newbie at this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Have you played around with any of the various cabinet and amplifier emulators yet? Those account for 60% or more of the “sound”, when speaking of electric basses and guitars.

Terry

1 Like

No, I’ve just been using the VST files & Cantabile. I suspected something else was needed, but not sure what to look for.

Thanks

Programming anything close to a believable guitar part takes some rather sophisticated (and generally, expensive) software, lots and lots of time being super picky with a mouse, and a very good understanding of the sound you’re trying to achieve. Hate to be a downer but that’s just the case- it’s one of the hardest things to replicate via keyboards and programming.