Is this possible?

I’m playing in the pit for a musical theatre production of The Toxic Avenger and because of space constraints I really need to keep my rig to a minimum. The majority of what I need to play is piano but there are instances where other instruments need to be layered over the top. What I’d like to be able to do is bring the secondary instruments in and out without involving a second keyboard. So my question is can an expression/volume pedal be assigned to affect a specific plugin without changing the volume of the rest? For example:

Input goes to two objects/plugins - piano and organ. Start of the song calls for both instruments to be played together then the organ fades out while the piano continues. Can the song be set up so that the expression pedal brings the volume down on the organ plugin only allowing the piano continue to be played unaffected by the pedal?

Totally. That’s pretty basic controller stuff. :wink:

It may be but I’m fairly new to MIDI and virtual instruments and all that stuff so it’s a bit out of my wheelhouse. In the past I would have done it with two keyboards or a keyboard and a hardware module and had the pedal connected to the specific hardware synth I wanted it to affect. I haven’t the slightest idea how to do this within Cantabile.

Hi Allen,

To do this you need to make a binding from your keyboard pedal to the program. To do this :

• check that you block MIDI except notes (notes only option) on your routes for you keyboards, that way the bindings don’t get confused with pre wired or common controller messages. This may require that you create cc64 sustain pedal bindings for your piano as well since you would be blocking them. The idea is to know exactly what you are sending to the vsti modules besides notes.

• go to the bindings tab on your song and left click and select (learn), the dialog box will appear

• press or move your controller pedal and then select the binding from the list in the dialog box and press ok.