I don't understand states

Hi, I’m sorry because I’m sure there’s something simple I’m missing here, but I cannot get states to work in the Cantabile 3 preview build. I followed each step as outlined here: http://www.cantabilesoftware.com/guides/states

But the changes don’t seem to apply to just the currently selected state. If I put an instrument into suspended mode in one state, it goes into suspended mode in the other state. If I delete something from one state, it deletes everywhere. I seem to be editing on the song level when I’m trying to edit on the state level. And yes, automatically updating states is enabled.

Sorry again. I’m not very good with tech and I’m sure I’m missing something obvious. Set lists/songs/racks/states - I can see why there are so many organizational layers at the performer’s disposal but I’m just not good at conceptualizing. Just to be clear - I have a performance with a bunch of instrument sounds (a musical theater show). I’d like to organize them in such a way that I can click through a list (or send a controller signal from a foot pedal), patch by patch, for quick changes without reloading plugins. Maybe I’m not even in the right part of the program.

I ran into the same thing - after selecting the item, you need to check the box at the lower left that says “Processing Mode” for it to remember to toggle your settings. It is finicky sometimes, but if you make sure that box is checked it remembers to suspend your states thereafter.

Terry

Hi,

Unless you’ve found a bug there should be no need to tweak the state behaviours by default for the suspend mode to work across states.

Try this:

1. Start with a new song file (File New)
  2. Insert two plugins
  3. Create two states
  4. Select the first state and disable one plugin
  5. Select the other state and disable the other plugin.

Switch between states and it should switch from one plugin to the other.